2-Year Owner Review: Driving An Opel Corsa

When I first bought my car, I’d done a lot of research on used cars because I don’t believe in buying a car out of the box. The second you leave the shop you lose R20K on the value of the car, what’s the point? But buying a car second-hand can be risky, so I really did have to price check and compare what was available. Eventually, I settled on a used Opel Corsa and I’ve been LOVING the car! After sharing my thoughts on how to buy a second-hand car, I thought it was fair to do a review on the good, the bad and the ugly.
.
In the beginning, there were hardly any cars like mine on the road, but now I see more and more! If you’re thinking of getting a new Corsa, here are a few things you may want to note.
.

Things I Love About The Used Opel Corsa Model I Bought

I’m sure many of these points will have men scoffing at me, but that’s too bad. I’m a girl and there are things that give me ‘driving pleasure’. These are the things my Toyota Tazz never had and which I’m currently enjoying in my new car:
.
1. Lock with One Button
Common in the newer cars, but my Tazz didn’t have central locking and I constantly had to ensure all the doors were locked before leaving my car. (The one time my uncle left my door unlocked and all my makeup, boots and clothes were stolen. Yes, I shouldn’t have left it in my car – we all have to learn the hard way sometimes!).
.
2. Audio Options
Aux: The audio features on the Opel Corsa are great. You have the option of CD, radio or ‘aux’. I bought this audio cable from Takealot for about R129 as it’s at 1 meter (instead of 1.3m I think), which means it doesn’t get caught on shoes or wrapped around everything, it’s great. It plugs in under the console and into your mobile so you can play whatever you want.
.
Saved Stations: The Opel has nine radio stations that you can pre-tune. I listen to 5FM, but Mr John has a drum n bass show on Bush Radio so I can just click 2 and it automatically moves it to Bush Radio, so I can catch his show.
.
Steering Control: It ain’t no Ferrari or anything, but you can skip the tunes you’re listening to or change the volume right from the steering wheel. Pretty handy when you’re on a long road and don’t want to look down from the road.
.
3. Light in the Front
So many cars have their roof lights in the middle of the car. How the hell are you meant to put makeup on or fix your hair with the light BEHIND you? So simple, but so logical. Well done Opel.
.
4. Rev Counter
When I learnt to drive I wasn’t very good at using the clutch. I came to depend on the rev counter quite a bit for my hill starts. It’s useful to see if you’re over 3 revs – at 4 you’ll definitely be ok on an incline! (How to pass a driving test 101) But my Tazz never had one! It only had a speed and petrol gauge! I’m SO happy that there’s a rev counter in my Opel. It also helps to monitor the engine when you have loud music on and can’t hear the engine.
.
5. Light on Petrol
The Corsa definitely isn’t as light on petrol as the Tazz was, but that car was like a magical flying carpet! The Corsa still gets good mileage, always 500 km on a tank and if you’re going long distance that can reach 600. When you run out of petrol, you still also have about 50kms in the tank. I know this because I ran out of petrol on the N7 and made it back to the Shell garage just outside Sunset Beach!!
.
6. Folding Seats
When I got the Corsa I thought it was way smaller than the Tazz, but I recently bought a 1.5-meter chest of drawers and the Mr Price men were able to get it in the back with the seats down! Ok, I had to drive squished home, but the fact that the boot actually closed was a miracle! The seats don’t go as flat, but the amount of space it makes is amazing!
.
7. Aircon
Let’s just keep it real. There’s no point buying a car without an aircon. End of story.
.
8. Lots of Cup Holders
This is so random, but it makes SUCH a difference! When I don’t have a cup, I use mine for change, hair elastics and lipstick sharpers apparently, oops! But the fact that they’re there, is great. Very handy.
.
9. Lighter Charger
I don’t smoke, BUT lighter chargers are used for so many things these days! I can charge my iPhone in the car and Mr John can charge his vape. So many of the newer cars don’t even have it anymore or have located them in the ashtray on the backseat side of the console! Don’t know how that’s meant to help anyone unless you have a chauffeur! I’m happy this still exists in my car.
.
10. Carry 5, carry 7
The Opel Corsa is a 5 seater, but I’m pretty sure if you dropped the seats you could make it 7. It’s small, cute and comfortable. Great for parallel parking. As far as cars on the bottom end of the price spectrum go, Kimberlite (as I call her) is pretty darn good looking. Some of the smaller cars really aren’t cute and the whole point of upgrading is so that you can be happy and comfortable in your vehicle.
.
Buying a used Opel Corsa for sale (from a reputable dealership like Group 1 Cars) is an excellent choice - the Corsa is reliable, has great accessories and features and is great to drive.
.
.
.
Article source: https://tenacioususedcars.tumblr.com/post/661051434664591360/2-year-owner-review-driving-an-opel-corsa